University governance

The University of Queensland is governed by a 22 member Senate representing University and community interests. Senate is led by the Chancellor, elected by the Senate. The University of Queensland Act 1998 grants Senate wide powers to appoint staff, manage and control University affairs and property, and manage and control finances to promote the University's interests.


The Vice-Chancellor is the University's Chief Executive Officer and responsible to the Senate for the overall direction of strategic planning, finance and external affairs.

The Vice-Chancellor is supported by the Executive who provide advice on policy and administrative matters relating to their area of responsibility. The Executive comprises:

The University's organisational units report to the Executive. View the Organisational Chart (PDF, 122KB) for further detail.

Academic Board

The Academic Board is the University's Senior Academic Advisory body. Its members include:

The Board formulates policy on academic matters including new programs, teaching, learning and assessment, research, promotions, student academic matters, prizes and scholarships. An academic board member is elected annually as its President. The President is assisted by a half-time Deputy President.

Enterprise Governance

Level 4, JD Story Building (Building 61)

UQ St Lucia